ACTIONS: Climate Change in 2025, Climate Change Projections for 2050 and Beyond

As the world grapples with the increasingly evident effects of climate change, the focus in 2025 is expected to be on "Adapting and Advancing: Nature and Technology in Harmony". This potential theme for Climate Change Progress 2025 reflects the dual need for resilience and innovation in the face of the challenges projected for 2050 and beyond. 

ACTIONS: Climate Change in 2025, Climate Change Projections for 2050 and Beyond
Between 2030 and 2050, WHO estimates that climate-sensitive diseases, including malaria, will cause 250,000 more deaths each year. THE GLOBAL FUND

Building Resilience Through Nature-Based Solutions

The projections for 2050 paint a stark picture: rising sea levels, more frequent and intense extreme weather events, and disruptions to ecosystems. However, the theme of "Adapting and Advancing" emphasizes the importance of nature-based solutions. 

Preserving and restoring forests, mangroves, and wetlands can play a crucial role in mitigating climate change impacts. Forests sequester carbon, reducing greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. 

Mangroves and wetlands act as natural barriers, protecting against coastal erosion and storm surges. Restoring these ecosystems not only promotes biodiversity but also builds resilience for communities facing the brunt of climate change. 

Bridging the Gap with Technological Advancements

The theme also acknowledges the potential of technological advancements in addressing climate change. 

The rapid development of renewable energy sources like solar and wind power is crucial for reducing our dependence on fossil fuels, the primary source of greenhouse gas emissions. Additionally, advancements in carbon capture and storage technologies could help offset remaining emissions, preventing them from entering the atmosphere. 

Embracing these innovations alongside nature-based solutions offers a path towards a more sustainable future. 

Climate Change Projections 2050

Climate change projections for 2050 paint a concerning picture if we don't take significant action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Here's a breakdown of some of the key projections:

  • Temperature Increase: Global average temperature is projected to rise by 1.5°C to 4°C (2.7°F to 7.2°F) by 2050 compared to pre-industrial levels. This increase will have a domino effect on weather patterns and ecosystems.
  • Sea Level Rise Sea levels are projected to rise by 0.3 to 0.8 meters (1 to 2.6 feet) by 2050. This rise will threaten coastal communities, inundate low-lying areas, and disrupt ecosystems.
  • Extreme Weather Events: More frequent and intense heatwaves, droughts, floods, wildfires, and storms are expected. These events will cause widespread damage to infrastructure, displace populations, and disrupt food production.
Unusual floods in Dubai / April 2024

  • Ocean Acidification: Increased absorption of carbon dioxide by the oceans will make them more acidic. This will harm marine life and disrupt the ocean's role in regulating climate.
  • Mass Extinctions: Climate change could accelerate the rate of extinction of plant and animal species, disrupting ecosystems and impacting biodiversity.

These projections are not set in stone. The actual outcomes will depend on the choices and actions taken in the coming years. By focusing on reducing emissions, investing in renewable energy, and implementing adaptation strategies, we can mitigate the worst impacts of climate change and create a more sustainable future.

The Road Ahead: Adapting While Aiming High

While the projections for 2050 raise serious concerns, they also serve as a call to action. The progress made by 2025 in terms of emission reductions and adaptation strategies will significantly influence the severity of climate change impacts in the decades to come. 

By focusing on adapting and advancing, we can build a more resilient future, protecting both our planet and its inhabitants. This requires international cooperation, strong policies, and continued investment in clean technologies and natural resource conservation.

By working together, we can navigate the challenges of climate change and create a more sustainable future for generations to come.

2024 Census Data Collector Recruitment: NSO PNG

The National Statistical Office (NSO PNG) is seeking enthusiastic and qualified Papua New Guineans to join the vital team of Data Collectors for the upcoming 2024 National Population Census! This is your chance to be a part of history and contribute directly to shaping the future of PNG.

NSO PNG - 2024 PNG Census Data Collectors Application form PDF download NSO

PNG Fires Service is also recruiting nationwide - click here to find out.

What is the Role of a Data Collector at NSO PNG?

As a Data Collector, also known as a Field Enumerator, you will be responsible for collecting crucial population data within your designated local area (Ward/LLG) during June 2024. Check out the actual dates for the 2024 National Census on PNG Insight.

Equipped with an Android tablet, you will be entrusted with the task of accurately recording information provided by households in your community.

The NSO is looking for individuals who meet the following criteria:

  • Age: 18 to 45 years old
  • Education: Minimum Grade 10 qualification or higher
  • Physical Fitness: Must be physically fit and healthy with no vision impairment or speech disorders
  • Communication Skills: Excellent public speaking and interpersonal skills are essential
  • Technical Skills: Must be comfortable operating an Android phone or tablet
  • Financial Information: Must possess a valid existing bank account
  • Experience (Bonus): Prior experience in data collection, particularly census or surveys, is a valuable asset

How to Apply

Ready to make a difference? Here's how to get started:

  • 1. Download the application form: Visit the National Statistical Office website for more information ( or head to your provincial or district headquarters to pick up a physical form.
  • 2. Complete the application: Fill out the application form thoroughly and attach your updated CV.
  • 3. Submit your application:  Deliver your completed application and CV to the Provincial Census Coordinator or the Provincial Recruitment Coordinator at your provincial headquarters office.

How to Obtain 2024 Census Data Collector Application Form - NSP PNG?

The recruitment drive will be done in all the provinces by their respective Provincial Census Coordinators (PCCs) and LLG Census Coordinators (LLGCCs).

If you are interested to participate in, visit your Provincial Census Office for more information or send an email to NSO PNG

Don't miss out! The application window closes on April 19th, 2024. 

NSO PNG Census Data Collector application form pdf - National Statistics Office

IMPORTANT: DO NOT PAY ANY BRIBE TO THE LOCAL CENSUS COORDINATORS (Provincial Census Coordinator or the Provincial Recruitment Coordinator). This is a community service and it should be done for FREE and on a MERIT basis ONLY

By becoming a Data Collector, you'll play a vital role in ensuring an accurate and successful census. This data is crucial for national development, shaping the future allocation of resources in healthcare, education, infrastructure, and more. More information is available here.



Latest on Vote of No Confidence in Papua New Guinea 2024

Latest on Vote of No Confidence in Papua New Guinea 2024