What Continent is Papua New Guinea in?

Papua New Guinea (PNG_, officially the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, is a country located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It shares the eastern half of the island of New Guinea with Indonesia, and is often referred to as the eastern half of New Guinea. While New Guinea is the world's second-largest island, Papua New Guinea is considered part of the continent of Oceania.

What Continent is Papua New Guinea in?

Oceania is a geographic region that includes 

  • Australia, 
  • New Zealand, and 
  • the Pacific Islands. 
It is often divided into four regions: Micronesia, Melanesia, Polynesia, and Australasia. 

Papua New Guinea is located in Melanesia, along with other countries such as Fiji, Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu.

What continent is Papua New Guinea in?

Geography of Papua New Guinea

The geography of Papua New Guinea is diverse and includes rugged mountain ranges, dense rainforests, and coastal plains. 

The country is known for its rich biodiversity, with numerous unique species of plants and animals found nowhere else on Earth. 

Mount Wilhelm, located in Papua New Guinea, is the highest peak in Oceania, reaching an elevation of 4,509 meters (14,793 feet).

Diversity & Economy

Papua New Guinea has a diverse population with over 800 languages spoken, making it one of the most linguistically diverse countries in the world. 

The country has a rich cultural heritage, with traditional customs and practices still being preserved and celebrated by many indigenous groups.

The economy of Papua New Guinea is based primarily on agriculture, mining, and forestry. 

It is a resource-rich country with significant reserves of gold, copper, and natural gas. However, it also faces challenges such as poverty, limited infrastructure, and environmental issues related to logging and mining.

WHere is Papua New Guinea, what continent is PNG in?
Kokoda Trail/PNG Insight Image


In terms of governance, Papua New Guinea is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy. 

It gained independence from Australia in 1975 and is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations.


Papua New Guinea is located on the continent of Oceania. It shares the island of New Guinea with Indonesia and is known for its diverse geography, rich cultural heritage, and unique biodiversity.

No comments:



Latest on Vote of No Confidence in Papua New Guinea 2024

Latest on Vote of No Confidence in Papua New Guinea 2024