PNG election counting update 2022 - daily summary

As the PNG elections are in the counting phase, we bring you a daily 'summary update' of the candidates declared; and party affiliate leading up to the 29th of July 2022. 

For the latest updates, twists and turns, and politics leading to the formation of the 11th parliament, click here.

Updated: PNG national election 2022 counting updates

Leading Political Party Candidates Tally

  • Pangu Pati (Leader - James Marape) x14 declared
  • People's National Congress, PNC (Leader - Peter O'Neill) x7 declared
  • United Resource Party, URP (Leader - William Duma) x4 declared
  • People's Party, PP (Leader - Dr William Tongamp) x3
  • Social Democratic Party, SDP (Leader - Powes Parkop) x2
  • Peoples Progress Party, PPP (Leader - Sir Julius Chan) x1 declared
  • People's First Party, PFP (Leader - Richard Maru) x1
  • United Labour Party, ULP (Leader - Lekwa Gure) x1
  • National Alliance, NA (Leader - Patrick Pruaitch) x2
  • Labor Party, LP (Leader - John Pundari) x1
  • People's Reform Party, PRP (Leader - James Donald) x1
  • PNG Party (Leader - Belden Namah) x1
  • Independent x2
Total winning candidates declared to date = 40

Provincial/Regional seats Declared

  • Manus - Charlie Benjamin, Pangu (polled over 13,234 absolute majority)
  • Bougainville/AROB - Peter Tsamalili Jr, Pangu (polled 42,928 votes)
  • West Sepik - Allan Bird, National Alliance,  NA (polled 127,315 votes)
  • Enga - Sir Peter Ipatas, People's Party (polled 172,653 votes)
  • East New Britain - Michael Marum, Independent (polled 33,285 votes)
  • New Ireland - Sir Julius Chan People's Progress Party (PPP) polled 31,717 ballot votes.
  • Hela - Philip Undialu, Pangu Pati polled 118,113 votes.

Open electorates MPs Declared

Summary of winning candidates by dates and ballot votes, including their party affiliation. 

Compiled from official sources - NBC News, PNG EC, EMTV and Post Courier news releases.

29 July 2022
  • Vanimo Green - Belden Namah, PNG Party, polled 10,213 votes.
  • Ambunti/Drekikier - Johnson Wapunai, PNC (polled 11,842 votes)
  • Telefomin Open - Solan Mirisim, Pangu (polled votes)
  • Esa'ala Open - Jimmy Maladina, Pangu (polled 9,359 votes)
  • Menyamya Open - Solen Loifa, Independent (polled 18,397 votes)

Declared 28th July 2022
  • North Fly - James Donald, PRP (polled 12,648 votes)
  • Central Bougainville -  Fr Simon Dumarinu, SDP (polled 12,263 votes)
  • Moresby South - Justin Tkatchenko, SDP (polled 28,111 ballot votes)
  • Nuku Open - Joe Sungi, Pangu (polled 9,239 votes)

Declared 27th July 2022
    • Gazelle Open - Zelta Wong, URP (polled 9,334 votes)
    • Hagen Open - William Dume, United Resource Party, URP (polled 48, 528)

    Declared 26th July 2022
    • Talasea Open - Freddie Reu Kumai, PP (polled 7,275 ballot votes)
    • Kokopo Open - Ereman ToBaining Jnr, PNC (polled 12,053 ballot votes)

    Declared 25th July 2022
    • South Bougainville Open - Timothy Masiu, Pangu (polled 14,404 votes) 
    • Finschhafen Open - Rainbo Paita, Pangu (polled 23,504 votes)
    • Kompiam Ambum - Sir John Pundari, Labor Party, LP (polled 28,963 votes)
    • Namatanai Open - Walter Schnaubelt, National Alliance, NA (polled 16,454 votes)
    • South Bougainville - Timothy Masiu, Pangu (polled 14, 404 votes)
    • Wabag Open - Dr Lino Tom, People's PartyPP (polled 35,782 votes)
    • Bulolo Open - Sam Basil Jr., United Labour PartyULP (polled 16, 072 votes)

    Declared 24th July 2022
    • Kiriwina-Goodenough Open - Douglas Tomuriesa, PNC (polled 9,555)
    • Kendrian Gloucester Open - Joseph Lelang, PNC

    Declared 23rd July 2022
    • Non

    Declared 22nd July 2022
    • Non

    Declared 21 July 2022
    • Maprik Open - Gabriel Kapris, PNC (polled 16,657 ballot votes)

    Declared 21 July 2022
    • Huon Gulf Open - Jason Peter, URP (polled 19,585 votes)
    • Yongoru-Saussia - MP Richard Maru, People's First Party, PFP  (polling 17,075 votes)

    Declared 20 July 2022
    • Kavieng Open - Ian Ling Stuckey, Pangu Pati (polled 12,523 votes)

    Declared 19 July 2022
      • Yalibu Pangia Open - Peter O'Neill, PNC (polled 45,106)
      • Rabaul Open - Graham P Rumet, Pangu Pati (polled 5,192 votes)
      • Komo Hulia Open - Daniel Tindipu Pangu Pati (polled 12,788 votes)
      • Koroba Lake Kopiago - William Bando, United Resource Party, URP (polled 36,587 votes)

      Declared 18 July 2022
      • Pomio Open  - Elias Kapavore, People's National Congress (PNC) Party (polled 11,949 first preference votes)
      • Magarima Open declared 18 July 2022 - Manasseh Makiba Pangu Pati (votes received 20,753)

      • Lae Open declared 17 July 2022 - John Rosso  Pangu Pati (first preference votes 26,864)

      • Tari Pori declared 10 July 2022- James Marape Pangu Pati (first preference votes 39,877)

      IMPORTANT: If your child/sibling is affected by the election, help him/her. Get free PNG Maths Resources (Exam papers, Units and Topics, Worksheets and Teachers Resource). An initiative of PNG Insight - giving back to the community. Get the free PNG maths resources NOW.

      PNG national election 2022 counting updates

      PNG 2022 Election Result updates

      PNG election counting update 2022 - summary

      Most provinces are in the counting stage.

      Simbu and Western Highlands are the last provinces to go into polling. It starts on Monday 18th July 2022. Only 8 days for polling and counting for these two provinces.

      Deferral of Return of Writs, Unconstitutional

      The deferral of RoW for a further 2 weeks to 14th August 2022 is unconstitutional, but there is a small window of time from the 29th July to 3rd August like in past elections, said the former Chief Justice and stateman, Sir Arnold Amet. 

      He said in this news report that the 'fixed date for the return of writs is critically tied to the 5th anniversary of the date fixed for the return of writs from the previous elections'.

      Section 105 of the Constitution provides for the fixed dates for the national elections to be held within 3 months of the 5th anniversary of the date fixed for the return of writs.

      The PNG EC is going out of the time bound for the RoW and into 'unconstitutional territory.

      PNG Electoral Commission under pressure

      The electoral commission is under pressure to complete counting before the 29th of July 2022. 

      They can be happy now as the date for the return of writs has been extended for a further 2 weeks.

      The counting and declaration will continue until the 12th of August 2022.

      Comment and let our readers know about the latest from your electorates.


      Unknown said...

      please give updates for Yangoru Sausia electorate and Nawaeb electorate

      Russel Pangoa said...

      Please can someone give the update for tewai siassi please???

      Unknown said...

      Could you provide the latest updates for Maprik Open in East Sepik Province?

      Unknown said...

      May you please provide the latest counting updates for Simbu regional seat and Kerowagi Open set?

      Robert keo said...

      Please can someone give me the updated for Goroka open electorate?



      PNG Insight Maths Exam Resources for Grade 8, 10 and 12

      PNG Insight Maths Exam Resources for Grade 8, 10 and 12