Showing posts with label 2017 general election. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2017 general election. Show all posts

Tuition Fee Free Education Policy - Parents Must Prepare For Uncertain 2017

Payment of Tuition Fee-Free funds to schools has always been an interesting issue among the key stakeholders. Schools skeptical of government's timely commitment and the decisions to pass project fees to parents to pay had been a hot topic among parents, schools and government since the policy's inception. 

The challenge to release funds on time to schools has not been addressed properly. That is why schools and boards are forced to pass fees onto parents. Nevertheless, the recent government's commitment to TFF education policy in the last 5 years (2012 - 2016) must be commended. Through thick and thin the academic year during those years have come to completion, with parents paying nothing. 

But, yet the impending problem still remains - school are not receiving TFF funds on time. This is evident in the PNG Teacher's Facebook discussion group (05.02.2017). One teacher called it a disgrace and reiterated this was the same problem all across the country. Under an hour the post got 15 Likes and a thread was forming. 

Surely lack of promptness is a disgrace. The continued delay of TFF funds payment to schools, even after the education secretary took to Post Courier's front page (31.01.2017) news shows something is not right. In hindsight it is not right to pass the blame around. It is only right to make sure schools have the funds to start each term, on day one of school year.

In fact, the TFF funds are always paid in quarterly installments every year - just before a term starts. This year 2017 is going to be challenging. Compared to the last past 5 years the government had some breathing spaces to gather funds to fund its TFF education policy. This year is the election year. Funds are going to be tight. In addition, the uncertainty of elections and formation of government after the 2017 General Elections, puts this education policy under spotlight. 

The education department must not be complacent! It has to have a contingency plan to not only complete the tuition fee-free year successfully, but also ensures parents are not fooled into paying school fees mid-year.  

The education system, going forward, has the challenge not to fool parents and sponsors. The department must now provide clear direction as far as schools fees and projects fees are concerned all throughout the election year.

The same challenge goes to parents and sponsors - save some money for you never know what's coming. 

Candidate Profile: How to write a good candidate profile - structure and detail is what you need

Are you an intending candidate or wanting to write a candidate profile for someone? Like any formal document, you need to get two vital components right: structure and detail.

Executive summary is, possibly, an important part of candidate's
profile. Realistic achievements as well as visions must be included.

A profile is about a particular person’s experiences, achievements and visions. If you want to portray yourself (or someone) as a potential leader the balance between the two components is necessary. 

Structure in your profile is like ‘pathway’ down history lane. So make sure profile has clear correlations - able to lead the readers well.

At the same time, ensure that you point out the important experiences and achievements. That’s where detail comes in. Know what is important – what’s needed including and what’s irrelevant.

Example of structure
1. Cover letter
2. Introduction (of the candidate)
3. Executive summary (a brief of candidate’s experiences and achievements and how they tie-in with party’s policies)
4. Contact detail
5. Experience
6. Achievement/Qualification
7. Referees
8. Other useful information
9. Attachment (include photo evidences of your works in the village, qualification, etc…)


Here are some factual information you needed in order to give detail to candidates' profiles:

1.      Personal detail Full Name (As it appears on the common roll), DOB as shown on the Birth Certificate, Place Birth, Age, Place of Origin, Clan Name, Tribe Name, LLG, District, Province, Marital Status, Spouse Name, Children’s Name(s):
2.      Tertiary Education:
3.      Secondary Education:
4.      High School Education:
5.      Primary Education:
6.      Your Specialised Field:
7.      Current Occupation:
8.      Your current Annual Salary:
9.      List down assets you own with their estimated value:
10.  How long were you in the district or province?
11.  Have you made your intentions know yet? If yes, how did you do it?
12.  What is the current total eligible voting population of your District?
13.  What is your estimated percentage of preferential 1 vote you will acquire?
14.  What is your base vote (P1) in terms of numbers against the total voting population?
15.  List down your main reason(s) why you want to contest?
16.  What would be your best personality that will be used in your campaign?
17.  How are you different from the current sitting MP and of the other intending candidates?
18.  What is the level of your understanding with the systems and processes of governance (Westminster System)? Fair, Good, Excellent?
19.  How many influential figures in the district are supporting you? Name at least 10 together with their villages.
20.  Are you popular in your area? What really made you a popular figure? List down your development goals to achieve after 5 years if elected.
21.  Have you done anything out of the ordinary to help your people in the village? If yes, please briefly state them.
22.  Please give us your reasons why you chose to contest under our party?
23.  How much money would you need from the party to support you in this election? 

More help available here. Get in touch